Titles

From An Interview with Shamcher Bryn Beorse
J=Jelaluddin Boru, S=Shamcher

Titles

J: That leads right into the idea of titles: Masters, Pir-O-Murshids, etc.
S: Yes, even the religious and philosophical organizations seem to have sinned in this direction. Hazrat Inayat Khan, a “Pir-O-Murshid”, once said; “When a title is given to a person, it doesn’t mean he is more advanced or is in any way ahead of anyone else, it means that he is privileged to have extended to him the opportunity to see if someday he may arrive at the proper attitude of respect, gratitude and humbleness that goes with his being a sufi.
Inayat Khan’s second son, Hidayat, says that he remembers that his father said, when he went to India the last time. “If I ever come back, I shall forget about the titles and the hierarchy and concentrate on the message.” And some will say “Well, Hidayat was a child at the time and you can remember a child remembering something like that”. But I was 29 years old at the time and I remember the same thing. Of course I was a child too. Am still a child for that matter…
I believe that among sufis we have all kinds of people. Some are more sensitive than others, and some believe in the hierarchy as a means to help the pupil, and maybe in some instances that is good. Personally, I am against it. I don’t think that it does any good, and I’ve always asked that no one use the title that I have been accorded in the sufi effort [Murshid]. I certainly don’t feel that I deserve any title. . .
Sometimes people say, “You must have respect and call Inayat Khan Pir-o-Murshid Inayat Khan. That’s the last thing I want to call him. I’ve always felt that he is so much more than merely a Pir-O-Murshid…I have met many murshids and pir-o-murshids for whom I could have no respect whatever, and others whom I felt were very fine people. So you see that it has nothing to do with the title…

J: About Inayat Khan. Would you say that all of his grace and power then, came from his natural attunement with the grace of his message, a message born of the vibrations coming from us?
S: He once said: “I was sent to the West by my teacher to unite East and West with the music that you know…and I did that in the beginning. I played my music, and now I have come to hear the music of every living Soul and this is not merely uniting the geographical directions of east and west but any two apparently opposite units, uniting them through the harmony which I hear when I listen to the music from individuals.” And by this he didn’t think that these individuals were going to sing to him, but he heard something, he looked at the person and the vibrations that he felt was the music he heard. So in one sense he stopped his musical life, but really it was a continuance of the same thing: uniting east and west through the harmony of his music…

(Click here for a random post from somewhere else in this blog.)

Leave a comment

Filed under Inayat Khan, Shamcher, Sufi

Leave a Reply

